Käte Hamburger Kolleg

Dynamics in the History of Religions between Asia and Europe

KHK—Project Site

The Käte Hamburger Center Dynamics in the History of Religions between Asia and Europe, headed by Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research of Germany, has started working in April 2008. Within the center, 49 researchers from 13 academic disciplines are working on 28 individual projects. In addition, up to ten fellowships are granted to scholars from all over the world each year.

Researchers from Bochum's university disciplines like East Asian Studies, South Asian Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Protestant and Catholic Theology, Classical Philology and History, in close cooperation with Religious Studies, investigate the dynamics of formation and spread of religions, the interaction between different religious traditions as well as their densification within the complex structures of the so-called “world religions” in Asia and Europe. A special focus lies on the relational constellations in the emergence of the religious field. Based on this premise, cultural and religious traditions can be described as a combination of ongoing processes of orientation and exchange.

Methodologically, the Käte Hamburger Center combines material and systematic research on religion both in a synchronic and in a diachronic perspective. Accordingly, the work is structured, on the one hand, in historical research fields dedicated to formation, expansion and globalization of religious tradition as well as to the development of specific terminology. On the other hand, we will examine recurring analogous religious phenomena like “secrecy” or “purity” (with their differing modes of integration, ascription, and exclusion) that act as attractors of religious community formations. Both approaches mutually complement each other in the comparative examination of religious semantics and of the formation of religious concepts and ideas.

One of the scientific objectives of the Consortiums based on this relational approach is the formulation of a systematic typology of religious contacts, and the formulation of a comprehensive theory of religious transfer which includes both the interrelations between religious impetuses and the dynamics of intrareligious dissents.

Funded by

Director

Affiliated Persons

AA

Prof. Dr. Aziz Al-Azmeh

Fellow

aziza@ceu.hu
NA

Prof. Dr. Nadia Al-Bagdadi

Fellow

AA

Dr. Abhishek Singh Amar

Fellow

aamar@hamilton.edu
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Sahar Amer

Prof. Dr. Sahar Amer

Fellow

saharamer@gmail.com
CA

Dr. Christoph Anderl

Fellow

christoph.anderl@rub.de
CA

Prof. Dr. Dr. Christoph Auffarth

Fellow

CB

Prof. Dr. Christopher I. Beckwith

Fellow

christopher.beckwith@rub.de
AB

Prof. Dr. Andreas Bendlin

Fellow

andreas.bendlin@rub.de
NB

Dr. Nora Berend

Fellow

nb213@cam.ac.uk
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Stephen Carl  Berkwitz

Prof. Dr. Stephen Carl Berkwitz

Fellow

stephenberkwitz@missouristate.edu
JB

Prof. em. Dr. Jan Nicolaas Bremmer

Fellow

j.n.bremmer@rug.nl
Photograph of Franziska Burstyn

Franziska Burstyn

Event Management

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.11
+49 234 32-21981
ceres-coordination-office@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Cathy Cantwell

Dr. Cathy Cantwell

Fellow

catherine.cantwell@rub.de
IC

Prof. Dr. Izak Cornelius

Fellow

sakkie@sun.ac.za
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Alexandra Cuffel

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Cuffel

Colleague

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.07
+49 234 32-22336
alexandra.cuffel@rub.de
IC

PD Dr. István Czachesz

Fellow

istvan.czachesz@gmail.com
SD

Dr. Svevo D'Onofrio

Fellow

svevo.donofrio@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Max Deeg

Prof. Dr. Max Deeg

Fellow

deegm1@cardiff.ac.uk
BD

Prof. Dr. Bettina Dennerlein

Fellow

bettina.dennerlein@aoi.uzh.ch
Photograph of Dr. Licia Di Giacinto

Dr. Licia Di Giacinto

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.14
+49 234 32-21992
licia.digiacinto@rub.de
MD

Dr. Meghan DiLuzio

Fellow

meghan_diluzio@baylor.edu
LD

Dr. Lucia Dolce

Fellow

ld16@soas.ac.uk
Photograph of Dr. Ruth Ebach

Dr. Ruth Ebach

Fellow

ruth.ebach@uni-tuebingen.de
Photograph of Assoc. Prof. Ana María  Echevarría Arsuaga

Assoc. Prof. Ana María Echevarría Arsuaga

Fellow

aechevarria@geo.uned.es
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Marion Eggert

Prof. Dr. Marion Eggert

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 1/46
+49 234 32-25572
marion.eggert@rub.de
JE

Prof. Dr. Johan Elverskog

Fellow

johan@smu.edu
SE

Prof. Dr. Stephen Eskildsen

Fellow

steve.eskildsen@gmail.com
Photograph of Dr. Grégoire Espesset

Dr. Grégoire Espesset

Fellow

gresp@yahoo.com
Photograph of Balaj Fazal B.A.

Balaj Fazal B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.13
+49 234 32-21984
balaj.fazal@rub.de
PF

Prof. Dr. Paul Fenton

Fellow

paul.fenton@paris-sorbonne.fr
Photograph of Dr. Marianna Ferrara

Dr. Marianna Ferrara

Fellow

marianna.ferrara@uniroma1.it
Photograph of Dr. Luiz Fernando Ferreira da Rosa Ribeiro

Dr. Luiz Fernando Ferreira da Rosa Ribeiro

Fellow

nalandanusantara@gmail.com
PF

Dr. Paolo Filigheddu

Fellow

paolo.filigheddu@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Erika Forte

Prof. Dr. Erika Forte

Fellow

Institute for Research in Humanities at Kyoto University
 
erika.forte@zinbun.kyoto-u.ac.jp
OF

Prof. Dr. Oliver Freiberger

Fellow

of@austin.utexas.edu
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Christian Frevel

Prof. Dr. Christian Frevel

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 7/149
+49 234 32-22611
christian.frevel@rub.de
YF

Prof. Dr. Youde Fu

Fellow

ydfu@sdu.edu.cn
KG

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Karl Galinsky

Fellow

galinsky@mail.utexas.edu
Photograph of Dr. Ophira Gamliel

Dr. Ophira Gamliel

Fellow

ophira.gamliel@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Reinhold Glei

Prof. Dr. Reinhold Glei

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2/162
+49 234 32-22761 / -28761
reinhold.glei@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Vladimir Glomb

Dr. Vladimir Glomb

Fellow

vladous2000@yahoo.com
Photograph of Dr. Jennifer Griggs

Dr. Jennifer Griggs

Fellow

jennifergriggs@outlook.com
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Thomas Großbölting

Prof. Dr. Thomas Großbölting

Fellow

thomas.grossboelting@uni-muenster.de
Photograph of Dr. Mareile Haase

Dr. Mareile Haase

Fellow

mareile.haase@utoronto.ca
GH

Dr. Georgios Halkias

Fellow

georgios.halkias@rub.de
Photograph of Assist. Prof. Rabia Harmansah

Assist. Prof. Rabia Harmansah

Fellow

rabia.harmansah@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Hartmann

Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Hartmann

Fellow

juhartmann@lmu.de
JH

Dr. Jan-Peter Hartung

Fellow

TH

Prof. Dr. Thomas Hauschild

Fellow

thomas.hauschild@rub.de
HH

Prof. Dr. Heinz Georg Held

Fellow

hg.held@unipv.it
AH

Dr. Alexander Henn

Fellow

alexander.henn@asu.edu
GH

Dr. Geoffrey Herman

Fellow

Photograph of Prof. Dr. Lucian Hölscher

Prof. Dr. Lucian Hölscher

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-24691
lucian.hoelscher@rub.de
RH

Prof. Dr. Ronnie Po-Chia Hsia

Fellow

rxh46@psu.edu
Photograph of Dr. Eduard Iricinschi

Dr. Eduard Iricinschi

Fellow

eduard.iricinschi@rub.de
JI

Prof. Dr. Jun'ichi Isomae

Fellow

icb74921@nifty.com
SJ

Dr. Sukman Jang

Fellow

sukman.jang@rub.de
DJ

Dr. Damien Janos

Fellow

djanos@uni-goettingen.de
JJ

Dr. Jason Ānanda Josephson

Fellow

jason.a.josephson@williams.edu
MJ

Prof. Dr. Matthias Jung

Fellow

Photograph of Dr. Thomas Jurczyk

Dr. Thomas Jurczyk

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.11
+49 234 32-21684
thomas.jurczyk-q88@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Markéta Kabůrková

Dr. Markéta Kabůrková

Fellow

kaburk@gmail.com
Photograph of Dr. Maijastina Kahlos

Dr. Maijastina Kahlos

Fellow

maijastina.kahlos@helsinki.fi
OK

Prof. Dr. Otto Kallscheuer

Fellow

Photograph of PD Dr. Yukiyo Kasai

PD Dr. Yukiyo Kasai

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.08
+49 234 32-21683
yukiyo.kasai@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Irina R. Katkova

Dr. Irina R. Katkova

Fellow

katkova_irina@yahoo.com
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Terry F. Kleeman

Prof. Dr. Terry F. Kleeman

Fellow

terry.kleeman@colorado.edu
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Adam Knobler

Prof. Dr. Adam Knobler

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.07
+49 234 32-22336
adam.knobler@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Eva Kocziszky

Prof. Dr. Eva Kocziszky

Fellow

kocziszky.eva@iif.hu
OK

Dr. Olga Kozubska

Fellow

olga.kozubska@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Götz König

Dr. Götz König

Fellow

goetz.koenig@rub.de
HK

Prof. Dr. Hans Martin Krämer

Research Associate

hans.martin.kraemer@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.12
+49 234 32-22395
volkhard.krech@rub.de
Photograph of Alina Krentz B.A.

Alina Krentz B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
+492343222056
alina.krentz@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Patrick Felix Krüger

Dr. Patrick Felix Krüger

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21958
patrick.krueger@rub.de
YK

Dr. Ya-Pei Kuo

Fellow

ya-pei.kuo@rub.de
Photograph of Apl. Prof. Dr. Vasco La Salvia

Apl. Prof. Dr. Vasco La Salvia

Fellow

vasco.lasalvia@unich.it
BL

Dr. Bérénice Lagarce-Othman

Fellow

berenicelagarce@yahoo.fr
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Susanne Lanwerd

Prof. Dr. Susanne Lanwerd

Fellow

susanne.lanwerd@rub.de
ML

Prof. Dr. Ming-huei Lee

Fellow

lmhuei@hotmail.tw
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Massimo Leone

Prof. Dr. Massimo Leone

Fellow

massimo.leone@unito.it
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Rebecca Lesses

Prof. Dr. Rebecca Lesses

Fellow

rlesses@ithaca.edu
GL

Prof. Dr. Gesche Linde

Fellow

gesche.linde@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Beate Löffler

Dr. Beate Löffler

Fellow

TU Dortmund, August-Schmidt-Str. 6
44227  Dortmund
Office Campus Süd GB I, Raum 208
+49 231 755-7930
beate.loeffler@tu-dortmund.de
CM

Prof. Dr. Christopher MacEvitt

Fellow

christopher.macevitt@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Claire R. Maes

Dr. Claire R. Maes

Fellow

claire.maes@austin.utexas.edu
AM

Dr. Al Makin

Fellow

VM

Prof. Dr. Vasilios Makrides

Fellow

vasilios.makrides@uni-erfurt.de
AM

Prof. Dr. Angelika Malinar

Fellow

angelika.malinar@aoi.uzh.ch
Photograph of Dr. Margherita Mantovani

Dr. Margherita Mantovani

Fellow

margherita.mantovani@uniroma1.it
RM

Prof. Dr. Robert Mayer

Fellow

robert.mayer@rub.de
AM

Dr. Andrew McDowell

Fellow

Photograph of Prof. Dr. Carmen Meinert

Prof. Dr. Carmen Meinert

Colleague

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.05
+49 234 32-28783
carmen.meinert@rub.de
AM

Prof. Dr. Arie L. Molendijk

Fellow

arie.molendijk@rub.de
Photograph of Hossein Najari

Hossein Najari

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.15
hossein.najari@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Elena Narinskaya

Dr. Elena Narinskaya

Fellow

elenarinskaya@yahoo.co.uk
JN

Dr. Jason Neelis

Fellow

jneelis@wlu.ca
CN

Assoc. Prof. Christophe Nihan

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.08
christophe.nihan@unil.ch
SO

Prof. Dr. Sung-Deuk Oak

Fellow

oaksung@gmail.com
KO

PD Dr. Khanna Omarkhali (Usoyan)

Fellow

kusoyan@uni-goettingen.de
Photograph of PD Dr. Bernd-Christian Otto

PD Dr. Bernd-Christian Otto

Fellow

bernd.otto@uni-erfurt.de
Photograph of Dr. Maryam Palizban

Dr. Maryam Palizban

Fellow

ritual.nara@gmail.com
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Martin Papenheim

Prof. Dr. Martin Papenheim

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.14
martin.papenheim@rub.de
GP

Prof. Dr. Guoxiang Peng

Fellow

IP

Prof. Dr. Istvan Perczel

Fellow

perczeli@ceu.hu
Photograph of PD Dr. Rosel Pientka-Hinz

PD Dr. Rosel Pientka-Hinz

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21969
rosel.pientka-hinz@rub.de
KP

Dr. Ksenia Pimenova

Fellow

ksenia.pimenova@gmail.com
Photograph of Ulf Plessentin

Ulf Plessentin

PR Manager

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.08
ulf.plessentin@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Zaroui Pogossian

Prof. Dr. Zaroui Pogossian

Fellow

zaroui.pogossian@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Colleague

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.04
+49 234 32-22955
jessie.pons@rub.de
SR

Prof. Dr. Stephen H. Rapp

Fellow

shr002@shsu.edu
Photograph of Dr. Imke Rath

Dr. Imke Rath

Fellow

rath@gei.de
PR

Dr. Philipp Reichling

Fellow

philipp.reichling@rub.de
SR

Prof. Dr. Stefan Reichmuth

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2/38
+49 234 32-25125
stefan.reichmuth@rub.de
AR

Prof. Dr. Adele Reinhartz

Fellow

adele.reinhartz@uOttawa.ca
AR

Prof. Dr. Amy Remensnyder

Fellow

amy_remensnyder@Brown.edu
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Kianoosh Rezania

Prof. Dr. Kianoosh Rezania

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.10
+49 234 32-21979
kianoosh.rezania@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Sebastian Rimestad

Dr. Sebastian Rimestad

Fellow

sebastian.rimestad@uni-erfurt.de
HR

Prof. Dr. Heiner Roetz

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21973
heiner.roetz@rub.de
PR

Dr. Pierre-Emmanuel Roux

Fellow

pieru79@gmail.com
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Ian Rutherford

Prof. Dr. Ian Rutherford

Fellow

i.c.rutherford@reading.ac.uk
Photograph of Dr. Ivan Sablin

Dr. Ivan Sablin

Fellow

ivan.sablin@gmail.com
PS

Prof. Dr. Paolo Santangelo

Fellow

paolo.santangelo@uniroma1.it
Photograph of PD Dr. Magnus Schlette

PD Dr. Magnus Schlette

Fellow

magnus.schlette@fest-heidelberg.de
Photograph of Dr. Jesko Schmoller

Dr. Jesko Schmoller

Fellow

jeskoschmoller@gmail.com
Photograph of Dr. Anna-Konstanze Schröder

Dr. Anna-Konstanze Schröder

Fellow

anna.schroeder@ager.unibe.ch
Photograph of Dr. Anna Sehnalova

Dr. Anna Sehnalova

Fellow

anna.sehnalova13@gmail.com
CS

Prof. Dr. Chun Shan

Fellow

shanchun56@yahoo.cn
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Weirong Shen

Prof. Dr. Weirong Shen

Fellow

shenweirong@yahoo.com
Photograph of Dr. Ying Ruo Show

Dr. Ying Ruo Show

Fellow

yrshow@gmail.com
Photograph of Assist. Prof. Caleb Simmons

Assist. Prof. Caleb Simmons

Fellow

calebsimmons@email.arizona.edu
Photograph of Dr. Iain Sinclair

Dr. Iain Sinclair

Fellow

i_sinclair@outlook.com
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Kirill Solonin

Prof. Dr. Kirill Solonin

Fellow

Renmin University of China
Beijing  
kirill_solonin@mail.ru
ES

Dr. Eszter Spät

Fellow

spateszter@yahoo.com
TS

Prof. Dr. Tulasi Srinivas

Fellow

Tulasi_Srinivas@emerson.edu
Photograph of Dr. Susanne Stadlbauer

Dr. Susanne Stadlbauer

Fellow

susanne.stadlbauer@rub.de
Photograph of Jun.-Prof. Dr. Daniel Stein Kokin

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Daniel Stein Kokin

Fellow

daniel.steinkokin@uni-greifswald.de
MS

Dr. Marion Steinicke

Research Associate

marion.steinicke@rub.de
Photograph of PD Dr. Knut Martin Stünkel

PD Dr. Knut Martin Stünkel

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.05
+49 234 32-21993
knut.stuenkel@gmx.net
AS

Prof. em. Dr. Aslam Syed

Fellow

Photograph of Dr. Henrik Hjort Sørensen

Dr. Henrik Hjort Sørensen

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.08
+49 234 32-21683
hensor@hotmail.com
Photograph of Assoc. Prof. Jesper Frøkjær Sørensen

Assoc. Prof. Jesper Frøkjær Sørensen

Fellow

jsn@cas.au.dk
Photograph of Assoc. Prof. Mustafa Şen

Assoc. Prof. Mustafa Şen

Fellow

senmusti@metu.edu.tr
Photograph of Dr. Giovanni  Tarantino

Dr. Giovanni Tarantino

Fellow

giovanni.tarantino@uwa.edu.au
Photograph of Assist. Prof. Juan Manuel Tebes

Assist. Prof. Juan Manuel Tebes

Fellow

juan_tebes@uca.edu.ar
Photograph of PD Dr. Levent Tezcan

PD Dr. Levent Tezcan

Fellow

levent.tezcan@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Davide Torri

Dr. Davide Torri

Fellow

davide.torri@asia-europe.uni-heidelberg.de
Pv

Prof. Dr. Peter van Rooden

Fellow

p.t.vanrooden@uva.nl
CV

Dr. des. Cornelius Vollmer

Fellow

BW

Barry Dov Walfish PhD

Fellow

barry.walfish@utoronto.ca
Photograph of Prof. em. Dr. Boudewijn Walraven

Prof. em. Dr. Boudewijn Walraven

Fellow

b.c.a.walraven@hum.leidenuniv.nl
Photograph of Prof. Dr. James Watts

Prof. Dr. James Watts

Fellow

jwwatts@syr.edu
IW

Dr. Ines Weinrich

Fellow

inesweinrich@web.de
Photograph of Dr. Tim Weitzel

Dr. Tim Weitzel

Fellow

tim.weitzel@uni-konstanz.de
DW

Prof. Dr. Dorothea Weltecke

Fellow

dorothea.weltecke@rub.de
JW

Dr. Joan Westenholz

Fellow

jgoodwest@gmail.com
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Peter Wick

Prof. Dr. Peter Wick

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 8/148
+49 234 32-28103
peter.wick@rub.de
GW

Prof. Dr. Gerard Wiegers

Fellow

g.a.wiegers@uva.nl
Photograph of Dr. Michael  Willis

Dr. Michael Willis

Fellow

michael.willis@rub.de
SW

Dr. Sylvia Winkelmann

Fellow

Photograph of Dr. Walter Edward Young

Dr. Walter Edward Young

Fellow

walter.young@mail.mcgill.ca
Photograph of Dr. Mohsen Zakeri

Dr. Mohsen Zakeri

Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.15
mohsen.zakeri@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Linda Zampol D'Ortia

Dr. Linda Zampol D'Ortia

Fellow

l.zampol.dortia@gmail.com
HZ

Prof. Dr. Dr. Helmut Zander

Fellow

helmut.zander@rub.de
MZ

Prof. Dr. Markus Zehnder

Fellow

zehnder@ansgarskolen.no
MZ

Prof. Dr. Monika Zin

Fellow

m.zin@t-online.de
IZ

Prof. Dr. Ines G. Zupanov

Fellow

zupanov@ehess.fr