CRC 1475 „Metaphors of Religion“

Religious Meaning-Making in Language Use

SFB1475—Project Site

Religious meaning-making occurs in and through metaphors. In metaphors, meaning is trans-ferred from one semantic domain to another. Religion, which cannot directly address its ultimate subject (the transcendent), is dependent on this procedure. The CRC seeks to more thoroughly understand this process theoretically and grasp it methodologically to research its semantic forms empirically and comparatively. The shapes religion takes as a socio-cultural phenomenon are thus better understood and central developments within specific religious traditions become more tangible. The CRC contributes to the historiography of religions, on the one hand, and to answering systematic questions in the comparative study of religions, on the other.

While extensive research on metaphors in religious texts exists, the CRC’s novel approach lies, first, in its systematic focus on metaphoricity as the central principle of religious meaning-making. Religion is understood as the form of communication that has the function of coping with ultimate contingency by means of the transcendence/immanence distinction. In this paradoxical process, the metaphor is used to infer the unknown (target domain) from known means (source domain) and in this way creates religious meaning.

Second, the CRC’s multidisciplinary composition allows for comparative studies on an unprec-edented scale in the field. The subprojects cover multiple religious traditions, including Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, Buddhism, and Daoism. Their geographical foci cover Europe, the Near and Middle East, South, Central, and East Asia. The time frame ranges from 3,000 BCE to the present day. The structuring of the subprojects in three sections is based on the elementary linguistic domains, ‘The Physical’, ‘The Mind’, and ‘The Social.’

Thirdly, the CRC is integrated through a shared methodological workbench, most notably an instrument for metaphor annotation used in all subprojects, complementing hermeneutic interpretation on the one hand and computational analysis on the other. In pilot projects, computational methods will be further developed, tailored to the CRC’s needs, and gradually implemented in further subprojects. The research corpora will be integrated into a shared repository and all identified metaphors will be linked with a ‘Thesaurus of Religious Metaphors’ (TRM). This will be both a central result of the CRC and a crucial tool for further comparative work across the subprojects and beyond.

In the first funding phase, the CRC will concentrate on the empirical analysis of textual materi-al. However, a working group will explore the relationship between metaphors and material objects and develop methodological approaches. In future funding phases of this CRC, we also aim to advance the theoretical conceptualization in the broader context of religious sign processes and develop new and innovative tools for their analysis.

Duration

01/2022 - 12/2025

Funded by

Affiliated Persons

Photograph of Dr. Lilith Apostel

Dr. Lilith Apostel

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.11
+49 234 32-21978
lilith.apostel@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Nikita Artemov

Dr. Nikita Artemov

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 7/147
+49 234 32-22453
nikita.artemov@rub.de
TB

Dr. Timo Bülters

Research Associate

Ludwig-Wucherer-Str. 2
06108  Halle (Saale)
timo.buelters@germanistik.uni-halle.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Johann Büssow

Prof. Dr. Johann Büssow

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2/38
+49 234 32-28125
johann.buessow@rub.de
LD

Lea David

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Lea.David@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Photograph of Dr. Gina Derhard-Lesieur

Dr. Gina Derhard-Lesieur

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.11
+49 234 32-24794
gina.derhard@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Licia Di Giacinto

Dr. Licia Di Giacinto

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.14
+49 234 32-21992
licia.digiacinto@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dipper

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dipper

Deputy Spokesperson

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 1/161
+49 234 32-25112
stefanie.dipper@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Marion Eggert

Prof. Dr. Marion Eggert

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 1/46
+49 234 32-25572
marion.eggert@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Frederik Elwert

Prof. Dr. Frederik Elwert

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.06
+49 234 32-23024
frederik.elwert@rub.de
Photograph of Makar Fedorov

Makar Fedorov

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 1/159
makar.fedorov@rub.de
Photograph of Sabrina Finke M.A.

Sabrina Finke M.A.

Public Relations

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.08
+49 234 32-21964
sabrina.finke@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Christian Frevel

Prof. Dr. Christian Frevel

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 7/149
+49 234 32-22611
christian.frevel@rub.de
Photograph of Henning Gebhard M.Sc.

Henning Gebhard M.Sc.

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.07
henning.gebhard@rub.de
TG

Tabea Gibbert B.A.

Research Assistant

tabea.gibbert@student.uni-halle.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Reinhold Glei

Prof. Dr. Reinhold Glei

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2/162
+49 234 32-22761 / -28761
reinhold.glei@rub.de
MG

Miriam Greshake B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
miriam.greshake@rub.de
Photograph of Julia Heinig

Julia Heinig

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.12
+49 234 32-21684
metaphor-papers@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Photograph of Anna Kira Hippert

Anna Kira Hippert

Research Associate

Wasserstraße 221
44799  Bochum
+49 234 32-21917
anna.hippert-h5d@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Vandana Jha

Dr. Vandana Jha

Research Associate

+49 721 608-28781
vandana.jha@kit.edu
Photograph of Maren Jordan M.A.

Maren Jordan M.A.

Coordinator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.08
+49 234 32-21982
maren.jordan@rub.de
Photograph of Claudia Jürgens

Claudia Jürgens

Research Associate

Universitätsstraße 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.11
+49 234 32-28618
claudia.juergens@rub.de
CK

Christian Kallwass

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office Institut für Arabistik und Islamwissenschaften, GB 2/141
+49 234 32-24383
christian.kallwass@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Tim Karis

Dr. Tim Karis

Coordinator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.10
+49 234 32-25492
tim.karis@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Spokesperson

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.12
+49 234 32-22395
volkhard.krech@rub.de
Photograph of Alina Krentz B.A.

Alina Krentz B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
+492343222056
alina.krentz@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Patrick Felix Krüger

Dr. Patrick Felix Krüger

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21958
patrick.krueger@rub.de
Photograph of Elsa Küppers

Elsa Küppers

PhD Student

Office MB 3.95
elsa.kueppers@rub.de
RL

Reyhaneh Lamei B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.12
reyhaneh.lamei@rub.de
AL

Anna Lohmann

Student Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Anna.Lohmann@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Carmen Meinert

Prof. Dr. Carmen Meinert

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.05
+49 234 32-28783
carmen.meinert@rub.de
NM

Dr. Nayerehsadat Mirmousa

Research Associate

n_mirmousa@sbu.ac.ir
Photograph of Neda Mohtashami PhD

Neda Mohtashami PhD

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.09
neda.mohtashami@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Martin Papenheim

Prof. Dr. Martin Papenheim

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.14
martin.papenheim@rub.de
Photograph of PD Dr. Rosel Pientka-Hinz

PD Dr. Rosel Pientka-Hinz

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21969
rosel.pientka-hinz@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.04
+49 234 32-22955
jessie.pons@rub.de
Photograph of Sebastian Reimann

Sebastian Reimann

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.07
sebastian.reimann@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Kianoosh Rezania

Prof. Dr. Kianoosh Rezania

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.10
+49 234 32-21979
kianoosh.rezania@rub.de
Photograph of Lina Rodenhausen

Lina Rodenhausen

PhD Student

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.07
lina.rodenhausen@rub.de
MR

Melissa Rogalski

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
melissa.rogalski@rub.de
AR

Adam Roussel

Research Associate

adam.roussel@rub.de
YS

Yusef Saadat

Research Associate

Universitätsstraße 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.14
+49234 32-21975
yusef.saadat@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Photograph of Natchakamon Savapakarn

Natchakamon Savapakarn

Research Assistant

natchakamon.savapakarn@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Tatjana Scheffler

Prof. Dr. Tatjana Scheffler

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 5/157
+49 234 32-21471
tatjana.scheffler@rub.de
Photograph of Alexander Schröder

Alexander Schröder

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
alexander.schroeder@rub.de
SS

Prof. Dr. Simone Schultz-Balluff

Research Associate

Ludwig-Wucherer-Straße 2
06108  Halle (Saale)
simone.schultz-balluff@germanistik.uni-halle.de
Photograph of Dr. Roman Seidel

Dr. Roman Seidel

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office Institut für Arabistik und Islamwissenschaften, GB 2/141
+49 234 32-24383
roman.seidel@rub.de
Photograph of Dunja Sharbat Dar

Dunja Sharbat Dar

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
dunja.sharbatdar@rub.de
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Linda Simonis

Prof. Dr. Linda Simonis

Principal Investigator

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 3/162
+49 234 32-28564
linda.simonis@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Jan-Ulrich Sobisch

Dr. Jan-Ulrich Sobisch

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.11
+49 234 32-28619
jan-ulrich.sobisch@rub.de
Photograph of Johannes Steinbach M.Ed.

Johannes Steinbach M.Ed.

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2 / 147
Johannes.Steinbach@rub.de
Photograph of PD Dr. Knut Martin Stünkel

PD Dr. Knut Martin Stünkel

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.05
+49 234 32-21993
knut.stuenkel@gmx.net
DT

Dr. Danah Tonne

Principal Investigator

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Scientific Computing Center (SCC), Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344  Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
+49 721 608 25904
danah.tonne@kit.edu
Photograph of Philipp Tögel

Philipp Tögel

Research Associate

philipp.toegel@kit.edu

Emre Ünal

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Emre.Uenal@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
JV

Prof. Dr. Judith Visser

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Photograph of Alexandra Wiemann

Alexandra Wiemann

PhD Student

alexandra.wiemann@rub.de
Photograph of Dr. Vicky Ziegler

Dr. Vicky Ziegler

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2/147
+49 234 32-19259
vicky.ziegler@rub.de

Former Affiliated Persons

Photograph of Tillo Detige

Tillo Detige

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
tillo.detige@rub.de
JK

Dr. Jakob Krais

Research Associate

jakob.krais@fu-berlin.de
Photograph of Hossein Najari

Hossein Najari

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.15
hossein.najari@rub.de
EA

Esra Apaydin

Research Assistant

esra.apaydin@rub.de
AB

Adrian Bernhard B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.13
Adrian.Bernhard@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
CC

Chung-Yi Choi B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Chung.Choi@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Photograph of Hey Chiu Pang B.A.

Hey Chiu Pang B.A.

Research Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
hey.pang@rub.de